Letter to Owen – July 11, 2018

My Dearest Owen,

This morning I woke up at 4:30 a.m. to go run, pray and plead with the Lord for your healing. I was running on the bridge across the lake and it was still dark outside. The sun was barely beginning to make its appearance. As I ran, I was listening to worship music, pleading, crying and physically shouting out to the Lord. I’m sure that some other people on the bridge thought that I was insane! With tears in my eyes and hands lifted high, I shouted out to the Lord, “Lord, please heal my boy!!” I repeated this over and over, aloud. We continue to plead and fight for you, buddy. Our God is in control and we rely solely on Him. Micah 6:1 says, “Listen to what the Lord says; Stand up, plead your case before the mountains. Let the hills hear what you have to say.” So that’s exactly what I did, and what I will continue to do.

This afternoon, we met again with your doctors. Your heart is so strong. You are a fighter. With every appointment, brings great anxiety, but the weight of the world is lifted when we hear your little heart. We continue to fight for you and with you. You have thousands of people praying, fasting and petitioning the Lord for you. You are so loved and have already done so much to make people rely solely on the Lord, especially your mom, dad and extended family. We love you, son.

Tonight, several of us gathered at the church. Your mother and I were surrounded by close friends and family who joined alongside us, laid hands on us and on you. For hours we cried out to the Lord. “Not this one Lord! Do not take this one!” Your name Owen means “young warrior.” Our prayer for you is that you be a warrior for Christ. You have already impacted hundreds of people and turned them to Christ. You truly are a warrior for Him. Your mother and I sat and cried until we could not physically cry anymore. Pleading and begging the Lord for your healing.

The realization that God is a far better father than I could every dream of being struck me hard tonight. I placed my hand on you and cried out to the Lord, dedicating your body to Him. You are truly in our Father’s care.  The Bible references God as “The Great Physician” several times. He is far more powerful, knowledgeable and loves you more than any human on this planet. He knit you together in your mother’s womb. You are not a mistake on His behalf. God does not make mistakes.

Miraculous healing is what we are praying for. Miraculous intercession on our behalf. We put our trust and faith not in the medicine, but only the Great Physician who is the author of all life.

Leave a comment